RARE USED VINTAGE 1983 RAINBOW BRITE STAR BRIGHT SPRITE

souwah

Post by souwah »

Just saw this on Ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/RARE-USED-VINTAGE ... 41579b9c8d

I'm new to all this so i'm not sure where this sprite fits into what sort of collection? PVC Minis?? And are they vintage just because it's says 1983?

Rainbow Brite
Admin

Post by Rainbow Brite »

Those are not vintage. They're from the 2003-2004 (Generation 3) line. I have him listed under "Light-Up Sprites" on my Plastic Figures page:

http://www.rainbowbrite.net/collect/pla ... twink.html

All RB dolls say Copyright 1983 Hallmark, but that does not indicate that they were produced/sold that year.
~Katy Cartee Haile~
RainbowBrite.net

souwah

Post by souwah »

Rainbow Brite wrote:Those are not vintage. They're from the 2003-2004 (Generation 3) line. I have him listed under "Light-Up Sprites" on my Plastic Figures page:

http://www.rainbowbrite.net/collect/pla ... twink.html

All RB dolls say Copyright 1983 Hallmark, but that does not indicate that they were produced/sold that year.
oh i see! That can be pretty misleading then!
So all the new stuff will be branded with the 1983 also then as this was when RB was created? How can we be sure to know it's "vintage" or which gen it's from?

I was also looking round on US craigslist (just for fun) and saw this RB baby high chair for sale. Have u seen one of those before?? Just thought i'd share =)
Attachments
il_570xN.152574683.jpg
il_570xN.152574683.jpg (69.04 KiB) Viewed 1094 times
RB high chair
RB high chair
il_570xN.152574325.jpg (71.84 KiB) Viewed 1094 times

Blondine Arc-En-Ciel

Post by Blondine Arc-En-Ciel »

RB was created in 1980 and first marketed on greeting cards in 1983, which explains the copyright date. By 1984 the doll and toy line started and continued until 1987. The dolls and some toys were made by Mattel and they are called the first generation dolls or Gen 1 for short.