what's a reasonable price when buying?

cherrymartini

Post by cherrymartini »

I am new to collecting Rainbow Brite dolls, but I know with other dolls out there I collect (Pullips, Blythe, BJDs, etc) there are basic "going rates" and then there are the eBay gougers. For example, is it reasonable to pay $300 for a MIB Tickled Pink? Is OOB but complete reasonable at $175? For an OOB but complete Moonglow is the normal range between $150 - $200?

I have read the eBay guide that someone wrote, and it has been pretty helpful, but I am just wondering what I can expect to pay and what is a real rip off. I realise these are both harder to find girls, and I guess "reasonable" can be different to each person, but I guess I'm looking for an average of what some of you have paid or would be willing to pay.

Thanks in advance for any advice! :)

Treasure_House

Post by Treasure_House »

:unsure:

Good question.. I, personally, go on eBay on adverage 4 or 8 times a weeks. Mostly just to browse. When looking for something, I hang back and keep watching for the lowest amount. Usually ending within a day or so. And normally with the lowest shipping rate as well. There are a lot of scammers out there. The auction may say, $5.95 with 0 bidders and you may win without any other bidders. But then there will be the shipping charge of $25. For something that normally ship for $4 to $6. It may even take me weeks to find the best deal. eBay, in truth, is a gamble. It's like putting your money into a slot machine. Problem is, some are riged and you end up loosing more than what it's worth.

:sleep: